Posted by: nastylittletruths | October 21, 2011

History – The Forgotten Teacher

I’ll be damned… Haven’t posted in exactly four weeks… How time flies when you are on the ‘other side’ of the hill and going down!

I grew up with the saying, “those who forget their history are condemned to repeat it”, and yet for many it holds no lesson. History is truly a great teacher because Man was supposed to evolve into better beings by building on lessons learnt – not doing the same thing over and over again.

This thinking enveloped me since yesterday on learning, and then seeing on all the news channels, the end of Moammar Gadhafi. I’ve tested high on emotional intelligence because of my feelings of empathy – I can’t help it, that’s the way I am – and no matter how bad the guy is, I still get that moment of sadness at their end.

Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi, The Mahatma, had said, “When I despair, I remember that all through history the way of truth and love has always won. There have been tyrants and murderers and for a time they seem invincible but in the end, they always fall – think of it, always”, and proven right again. Forty-two years Gadhafi ruled Libya and yes, I am sure he felt invincible for most of that time, but in the end hiding like a rat in a drain pipe. And when caught, beaten with shoes and then shot like a dog…

When I speak of Trinidad politicians to my external colleagues I say we have gods here, not ministers of government and MPs. They saw Patrick fall like deadwood from a rotting tree and yet they feel they will be there forever. And those who are smart enough to know that it is but for a time only ‘tief’ like there’s no tomorrow…

It seems like the only escape is death.

Leave a Reply

Categories

