Posted by: nastylittletruths | December 31, 2010

New Year’s Greetings

In saying goodbye to 2010 and looking to 2011 (with some dread) I was reminded of an Albert Einstein quote that one of my suppliers sent me many years ago. This one sentence, profound in many ways, expresses as only an Einstein could have done what should be at the forefront of people’s lives every day:

Every day I remind myself that my inner and outer life are based on the labors of other men, living and dead, and that I must exert myself in order to give in the same measure as I have received, and still receiving.
 

How many of us wake up in the morning and remember those that have gone before us? Remembering that the way we live, as much as we would like to impress ourselves, is a result of not only what we put into it but the labour of men and women who have contributed in many ways to the quality of life we experience?

But we live in a selfish world and every generation that comes to adolescence (not maturity) believes that they alone know everything and that the world was created by magic for them. Sadly, we carry remnants of these illogical thoughts into adulthood…

So as the politicians – every single one of them – who have not an ounce of gratitude in their hearts but believe that they alone are lord and masters of all that they survey go about their business, let us as a people do what we have to do to build this nation.

I cannot think of any better message that I can give my readers than to go forth into the New Year and exert themselves to leave this, our land, a better place than it was when they came. I certainly owe it to my ancestors and to my children…

Leave a Reply

Categories

