Posted by: nastylittletruths | December 3, 2010

‘b’ for bogus

If you have never heard the above in the same breath with “effing bmobile!” you have to check your ‘Trini-ness’…

After a long and torturous relationship with TSTT I have finally extricated myself from Blink (another ‘b’ word) and hopefully before the end of the year from bMobile. In the service desert of Trinidad you have to choose between the lesser of two evils and yes, I do understand that the grass is always greener (oh, crap – they control this colour too!) on the other side.

bMobile I’ve been wanting to get rid off for years now, but I have a post-paid phone that just couldn’t finish the rollover minutes. Sad, eh? But I’m finally done and Digicel didn’t look all that easy to deal with either. I mean, come on, do you see the demographic they target? A master in advertising once taught me that there are target markets and if it sounds like to others outside that target then it doesn’t matter… Digicel ads are noise to me.

At the end of the day, however, the deal breaker was the actual phone service. bMobile runs a slick campaign, but Digicel beats them where it matters – I can make or receive a call anywhere I travel in TnT… No more dropped calls! Closed user groups with better phones for my work colleagues/my family… What more can I ask for? Oh, I know – a real mobile internet service for people like me who don’t like Blackberry phones.

But I must hand it to TSTT management. They have perfected the art of walls in business. You cannot speak to anyone who can make a decision; you don’t know who they are; you don’t know where to call. After about six years of broadband service when I terminated the service not a question was asked. They did try to tell me that I am owing them money for breaking a contract, but I told the guy to meet me in court for that one.

Now if I can only do without a land line phone…

Leave a Reply

Categories

