Posted by: nastylittletruths | November 24, 2009

Ah ‘Fraid Neil

After a four-week absence from posting anything here, I had to give some reason, aye?

But seriously, even though it’s old news, the fact that Neil Parsanlal took three journalists before the Privileges Committee of Parliament (one actually just reading the news with, I suppose, no input in the actual content) and then brave enough to take on Dana Seetahal, what about lil ole me typing away on an old keyboard stating my discontent with his government? I guess if Neil is after me, I should be afraid… very afraid…

And that gets me to the other part of this post – what is wrong with us as a nation when everything seems to be falling apart, but propped up by Chinese money, and we refuse to do anything about it? Saturday’s Red Day was a washout and on Sunday I was one a of the few hundreds in Woodford Square supporting the People’s Democracy. Like my better half said – fight for the people who can’t fight for themselves, but what do you do when no one even understands, or interested, in what the fight is about?  Heading to Central on Monday morning from the city and there were more cars than usual on the road so it assumes there will be none to negligible support for the call to shut down the country for two days. I am out of the city for the week – who cares about CHOGM and the HOGs that do attend?

(As a side note  – I was invited to a Caura River lime on Monday and my lord, if you see people! Minutes to seven I am heading out of that dark and dismal place and the two bars were filled and people were also parked on the side of the roads drinking. When I commented to my host that it looks like some support for the shut-down, he laughed and said that it was like this every Monday in Caura! Every Monday… My word, but Trini like to fete boy).

But our continued interest in making people aware (unrewarded as it seems by the disinterest of the majority of my people) can be summed up in my favourite publication’s (The Economist) raison d’être – “to take part in a severe contest between intelligence, which presses forward, and an unworthy, timid ignorance obstructing our progress”.

I have a solution to get better support for a country-wide strike – don’t advertise the date. I think that people go out to work so as not to be stigmatised as a ‘supporter’ and therefore not in the gun sights of their employer. If everyone stays home tomorrow Wednesday there’s not one employer in the country who can do anything about it as it was  not advertised as a day of srike or to stay home and ‘reflect’.

Leave a Reply

Categories

