Posted by: nastylittletruths | October 6, 2009

Crime By Any Name

I was worked up about the cold, calculating, methodical and ‘holier-than-thou’ crooks the past week who not only steal from me, but from my children and grandchildren, I lost sight – for just a moment – about the brutish crime that takes place day in and day out in this land.

On a customer visit in south on Monday I met a guy whom I’ve known for about 15 years, but haven’t seen for about 1/3 of that – time flies… He’s from Princes Town and as we were ‘shooting the breeze’ the topic got around to crime in that part of the southland. It was fresh in his mind and I saw that desperate/hunted look on his face when he related what happened to his sister-in-law, her husband and their daughter just the past weekend.

On Saturday night the family retired after doing the needful of locking up, etc. During the night the daughter got up to use the washroom and when she came out into the corridor noticed a door that should be closed, open. Luckily, she’s quick on her feet so she was instantly alert that something was wrong. As she turned her gaze to the living room a bandit was already moving quickly towards her, but she was faster. Screaming at the top of her lungs, she headed for her parents room even as the bandit grabbed on to her arm. She tugged her arm away and bolted through the bedroom door that was already being opened by her father. And here is the difference between this guy and 99% of us – he’s a man with a licenced firearm…

Grabbing his child and in one movement firing indiscriminately into the corridor, he saved their lives. This guy is relating this story and he wrapped up saying exactly what I was thinking – what if this man didn’t have a gun? What if the same thing had happened to him, as it could to any of us, as non-holders of licenced guns? Just another statistic in the news and duly recorded by the police.

“Woman and daughter raped by bandits while husband chopped to death” or any other variants of a far too common story with no end in sight – not even a stemming of the tide. I left depressed, angered and thinking if it’s time to break the law that is supposed to protect me, yet seems to be cowering in a corner afraid of the bandits, crooks and thieves in our midst. I mean, if the PM and the AG ‘fraid Hart, Bahadoorsingh, Cherry, Anisette et al, who are we, eh?

I also thought about if I end up in front of a magistrate for possession of an illegal weapon, or if I killed a man inside of my home whose intentions were murderous, what law will he/she condemn me with that couldn’t help me in the first place? How easy it is for our elite to feel safe while they have police guards (at our cost) or private security (like the PM, still at our cost) but we are left defenceless against the wolves?

I can be objective enough and argue the point about breaking the law from on top of a magisterial bench, but it doesn’t protect our lives, our families and our properties does it? I’ll leave with this quote by Rev. Martin Luther King for you to decide:

I submit that an individual who breaks a law that conscience tells him is unjust, and who willingly accepts the penalty of imprisonment in order to arouse the conscience of the community over its injustice, is in reality expressing the highest respect for the law“.
Leave a Reply

Categories

