Posted by: nastylittletruths | April 16, 2009

In Celebration Of One Year

Time really does fly, even when you are not having all that much fun :-)

Tuesday made it a year since I started this blog and all I can think of is what a failure I’ve been when compared to the ideals of 366 odd days ago! First off – I didn’t even come close to posting at least once a day as I wanted to. Not for a lack of material – it’s Trinidad – but just to log on and start banging away at the keyboard begins to feel like a ‘project’ that can be easily put off for another day. Did I hear Twitter? *cringe*

Second – did it change anything in the scheme of things? Did I engage people and get the grey cells all activated? If this, then at least I have not failed. Going back to the fundamentals of why I started the blog, I can honestly say that I didn’t stray too much from what I said it will be about. The intent was to elaborate – without double-speak – on very real issues facing us.

Along the way I discovered some truths about us as a people and it wasn’t nice… There is such a huge silent group of people that lives here, I sometimes wonder what will mobilise them. The quote I got below is specifically for them, but also applicable for two other groups in this ‘corn-tree’ – the PNM zealots and the UNC fanatics:

He who passively accepts evil is as much involved in it as he who helps to perpetrate it. He who accepts evil without protesting against it is really cooperating with it. … So in order to be true to one’s conscience and true to God, a righteous man has no alternative but to refuse to cooperate with an evil system.” From Dr Martin Luther King’s book “Stride Toward Freedom”

Leave a Reply

Categories

