Posted by: nastylittletruths | July 30, 2008

Oh Trini…

I once read a cartoon joke/observation about patriotism in a newspaper that I use as an example to explain my relationship/feelings towards my country. Simply put, I love my country but at times it’s very hard to love my countryman. Sounds like a paradox I know… Because what is your country without the people that populate it, contribute to its culture and development and instill the vibrancy that you feel on the street? Not much except soil and rock, yes? But it’s true for me. I can love a Trinidad and Tobago without a soul here – well, if I have the love of my life with me, I won’t mind…

Grasp the soil of the Caroni Plains in my hands… Gaze at the majesty of the Northern Range just after a shower that clears the air so crisp and sharp you feel if you stretch your hands out you can touch it… Sink your toes in the sand of any north coast, east coast or Tobago beach and fill your lungs with that salty air… That’s the connection I have with this land – as simplistic as it may sound.

But with me there are another 1.3 million souls – a good part of which annoy the living daylights out of me every day on the roads, but some days are exceptional. I went looking for a farm in Carlsen Field (heard that you get good quality cow’s milk there) and had to take detour off the directions I got because of a fallen tree. (I think I was lost to begin with… There are no street signs in Carlsen Field!) Anyway, to cut a long story short my goodly compatriots had a visually stunning sight waiting to welcome me:

Beginning

Beginning

Scene1

Scene1

Scene2

Scene2

Scene3

Scene3

Yep, my heart burst with pride for my fellow citizens – these nasty litter bug polluters. Seriously… with the price of steel these days the scrap business is booming with guys in old trucks all over the place looking for anything vaguely metallic and this is the best you can do? I’ve said it before – in all the talk about achieving developed country status, some people will have to be dragged kicking and screaming there. Shame on you, whoever you may be…

Leave a Reply

Categories

