Posted by: nastylittletruths | May 1, 2008

Rowley Takes A Stand

Well, well… serves me right for not posting yesterday. Now I have to defer what I wanted to write about and keep up with the new chapter of the Rowley affair.

For those who missed it, Dr. Rowley this morning put his parliamentary seat and involvement in public affairs on the line with regard to UdeCoTT. He is asking for a public Commission of Inquiry into the affairs of UdeCoTT and if the findings are contrary to what he has been saying, he will resign as MP and withdraw from public life.

Very good you say, but any different from the Ramesh/Panday affair of 2001?  I will say yes because of the different styles of both men. Ramesh started to misbehave in public while still AG, Rowley was agitating from inside. Both results were the same however – they got fired. The UNC Government collapsed because of Ramesh, the PNM Government will not. As per a previous post, Patrick can lose his post as prime minister, but the PNM can still remain in power. And in reality, do we really want to go back to the polls? I certainly can’t take a repeat of 2000, 2001 and 2002 elections again…

So back to Rowley. Can you support his position? Will we ever see the PM acceding to the request to inquire into UdeCoTT? He emphatically stated his support last week and will be in the best position to know that it is not in hisbest interest to do that. At the end of the day he did what he wanted to do since 1996 – get rid of Rowley. I think everyone in TnT knew that Rowley was living on borrowed time (lasted nearly 12 years) but it was expected.

I can relate a story of how I nearly got beaten in La Romaine (well, when we get passionate about politics :-) ) after I told some people (uh, UNC…) that they should get up every morning and thank the Good Lord for the PNM and the “Diego Trio”. My point was that Patrick could have been a galloping dictator already were it not for strong MPs and the party. Colm sold out – he will do anything to remain a minister and Valley was given the boot last elections. Rowley was the only thorn left and it was yanked out last week.

I support Rowley’s stand not only for the fact that he wants UdeCoTT investigated, but that he wants nothing to do with public life in the event he’s found to be wrong. Is it a first? I don’t know, but I certainly can’t wait to see what happens next.

Responses

  1. I could not agree more and I also strongly support Dr. Rowley but I do not think we will see an inquiry into UdeCoTT. Our new Ministers seem to be a bunch of sheep, so I do not expect any one of them to tell the truth. It is time Trinidadians stand up and be counted and not treat everything as a nine-day wonder.


Leave a Reply

Categories

